» News

USTA Alabama announces tennis awards for 2020

USTA Alabama announces award winners for 2020

November 15, 2019 – USTA Alabama announced today the recipients of its 2020 awards, given for outstanding achievements in tennis both on and off the court. Eighteen winners will be recognized during the USTA Alabama Annual Meeting at Vestavia Country Club scheduled Saturday, February 15, 2020.

Here are our 2020 USTA Alabama award winners


Adult Tournament of the Year; Pritchett Moore Men’s City Invitational; Indian Hills Country Club, Tuscaloosa

Charity Event of the Year: Charity Steel; Greystone Country Club

Community Tennis Association of the Year; Central Alabama Tennis Association; Montgomery

Diversity & Inclusion Champion Award; Crimson Community Wheelchair Tennis

Junior Tournament of the Year; Alabama Spring Clay Court Open Championships; Pelham

Junior Team Tennis Coordinator of the Year; Carol Ostberg; Cropwell

Local League Coordinator of the Year; Rodney Harris; Montgomery

Official of the Year; Donna Jerome; Auburn

Family of the Year; The Ellison Family; Birmingham

Players of the Year; Kelli Baker; Birmingham, Steve Burdette; Tuscaloosa

Professional of the Year; Mike Goldammer; Tuscaloosa

Wheelchair Excellence Award; Jeremy Boyd; Tuscaloosa

Junior Players of the Year; Raegan Mitchell, Orange Beach and Philip Bosman, Auburn

Captains of the Year; Bebe Lindsey, Mobile and Kevin Fichtner, Auburn

Volunteer of the Year; Cecilia Harris, Montgomery